Sad Day for Women in Tech: Adria Richards is Fired for Standing Up To Sexism at PyCon


Many great articles have been written about this sad (and what should be shocking, but, even more sadly, just isn’t anymore!) story, and I don’t believe I could write something even better, so I simply want to bring this to your attention if you haven’t read about it yet.

Here’s the short of it: Adria Richards, a formed developer evangelist at SendGrid, was fired for standing up to several rude men who were making sexist comments at PyCon. She took a picture of the men and tweeted it to PyCon, asking them to enforce their code of conduct (sexual harassment, duh), an internet meltdown endued and she ended up getting fired.

For more details, check out this article on Jezebel:

http://jezebel.com/5991792/woman-in-tech-tweets-about-sexist-dudes-in-tech-dude-get-fired-internet-meltdown-ensues

Sadly, it has been brought to my attention that I did not do my research! So much for reading with an appraising eye….

Thank you for pointing this out to me guys!

Facebook friends set me straights

Facebook friends set me straight

Comment on this post!

