I Love My New Job!


For anyone who hasn’t been reading all my posts on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn about how I’m looking for tech support pretty much everywhere…. I have news: I started my new job as an international recruiting coordinator at Astreya Partners Monday July 16, 2012.

And it has been AWESOME!! =D The team I work with is incredible. They’re all super nice, intelligent, hard-working and social people around my age. They’ve been just wonderful about answering all my questions while I’m training, sharing helpful tips, and we even go out to happy hour at Pedro’s down the street after work!

Yeah, I told you guys my coworkers are the shit ;D

My bosses are even MORE awesome though! My supervisor, Jenny, is super chill and really motivating! She’s able to make the work environment so energizing that I’m easily able to do my best work =] Plus, she’s very approachable so I’m not worried I’ll ever have any problems!

And the big boss in charge is kind of like Santa Clause. He brings bagels for everyone Wednesday mornings, keeps the fridge stocked with snacks, pays for us to order catering from a different restaurant every Monday and even ordered this cool ice cream truck to come for one of my coworkers’ birthday last week! I can see why they say you gain the Astreya 15 just like in college now ;D

As for the job itself…. I love it =] I spend my day sourcing people to help them get jobs. This includes looking for resumes on LinkedIn, Craigslist and other resume banks; using social media to reach other potential candidates; getting back in touch with contacts who might know someone who would be a good match for the position or who might have some advice about recruiting in a foreign market.

Did I forget to mention I recruit all over the world? ^^ I source for Technical Support Technicians and Equipment Maintenance Technicians (pretty much desktop support) as well as Technical Team Leads (managers, supervisors) all over the place! Just in North America my recruiter, Sara (who’s awesome too ^^), and I are in charge of SF, Mountain View, Seattle, San Bruno, Kirkland, LA, NYC, Washington DC, Chicago, Toronto and Boulder, Colorado. And in Asia Pacific ? Taipiei, Seoul, Tokyo, Beijing, Sydney and India. Oh, and can’t forget Europe! London, Dublin, Zurich, Paris…

Thankfully, I didn’t have to source for every single location my first week. That would have been insane! I’m really excited to build my network even more in all of these places though ^^

Did you guys want to see my cube?!

4 thoughts on “I Love My New Job!

Comment on this post!

