Discovering Startup Events in the Bay: Startup Grind


I went to my first Startup Grind last night! I missed all the cool startup events I attended in Paris ( Start in Paris, Girls in Tech Paris, Apero Entrepreneurs….) and all of the amazing people I met there so I decided to see what I could find in the US capital of entrepreneurship =]

Startup Grind definitely met my expectations! Last night, organizer Derek Anderson brought famous journalist (for Fortune, one of my favorites!) and author Adam Lashinsky in to discuss his book Inside Apple: How American’s Most Admired–And Secretive–Company Really Works.

Picture of Derek Anderson and Adam Lashinsky from last night’s event. Picture taken from http://www.startupgrind.com

Derek’s questions led Adam into some very insightful answers. They discussed Steve Jobs’  leadership style, the impact he has ad on Apple’s success and development, who will be the next CEO and how they expect Apple to evolve and develop. It was a super interesting discussion and they even gave out a few signed copies of Inside Apple!

Just like at the events in Paris, I got to meet some cool people =] I even met someone who’s hiring! To all job seekers out there: do not underestimate the power of networking. You might not run into your future employer right away, but it’s a lot easier to make an impression in person than on paper! So get out there and meet people.

The verdict? Definitely going to more =]

You can find the event details here and info about upcoming meetups here.

2 thoughts on “Discovering Startup Events in the Bay: Startup Grind

Comment on this post!

