The Adorable French Village Where My Grandparents Live, Part 1


I had some time today so I went on a stroll around the village my grandparents live in (in the French countryside) and took some pictures so you could all see. There’s a lot I want to show my friends in the U.S. (and all over the world!), so this will probably take several installments.

I had to go to City Hall to fill out some paperwork this morning, so we’ll start off there.

Doesn’t look much like an American city hall, does it? It sure doesn’t look like the one in San Jose (where I studied)!

Here are also some photos of the shops on our main street.

This (above) is a very casual place where you can eat, almost like a bar–well, pretty much a bar inside, but you can also eat outside.

The picture above is of our local butcher’s shop (actually, I think there are two in our town)… and of some guy picking his nose who probably thinks I’m stalking him.

In France, there are some really big stores like Wal-Mart, but in the country side most people don’t want to take their car to go grocery shopping in the nearest big city. Instead, they go to small specialized stores in their town. There’s a store for just about everything! There’s a butcher, a baker, a pastry shop, a smaller version of a big grocery store where you can find a variety of things and, in this town, even a computer shop (for getting computers repaired; it’s not Best Buy)!

This picture is of a plaza with restaurants and a haircut place. I like to look for a friendly white cat with orange spots when I walk by there, but sadly he was not there today.

There’s also a beautiful castle up in the forested hills. Can you see it in the distance? Here’s another look.

There are a lot more pictures I want to post but I’m running out of time, so here’s one last one.

There’s a gorgeous chapel in the town which was recently renovated. The crew is now working on renovating the garden, so maybe I’ll post some pictures of it too next year.

I unfortunately don’t have enough time to keep posting more pictures. Sending out CV’s and cover letters takes a lot of time. Ironically enough, finding work is hard work! So… in order to have more time to devote to my search for work I am now going to begin posting only twice a week instead of every other day. I’ll still make sure my friends all over the world stay up to date on my news though, so no worries! We’re not going to fall out of touch =]

2 thoughts on “The Adorable French Village Where My Grandparents Live, Part 1

Comment on this post!

