The Value of Things


As I’m getting ready to move out of my apartment I’m realizing that I have a lot of things! Having a lot of things isn’t necessarily a bad thing (although it is quite consumerist and probably isn’t very good for the planet, so you know what, yeah. I guess it kind of is a bad thing!) but what I was going to say, is that the worst part about all of this for me is that I don’t use most of these things.

I’ve been looking through drawers and bins (I’ve bought TONS of them from Target and Wal-Mart over the years) and realizing that I rarely even look in these bins anymore, never mind actually use all the possessions I have somehow managed to stuff in them!

Did I mention how much stuff I've managed to fit in my closet?

This has got me wondering, what is the value of all these things?

Some of them have sentimental value. I love my picture albums, stuffed animals and souvenirs. They signify memories and remind me of the people who gave them to me. I would be very sad if I lost them and possibly the memories they were linked to too.

Some of my other possessions are useful. Bed? Kinda need that. White board? Helps me keep track of all the things I need to do. Printer? Not a necessity since there is a print shop on campus, but boy is it useful. A gazillion pairs of shoes… well, you could rationalize that they’re useful, but this is really where the useful debate begins.

One pair of tennis shoes, one pair of sandals, and one pair of dressy shoes would probably be “reasonable.” However 5 pairs of boots, 7 pairs of dress shoes, and 4 pairs of flats? I think this is where my hoarding habit comes in ><‘ No, I do not need that many shoes, but I do love selection! It’s also nice to know that I should pretty much always have a pair of shoes that match whatever I’m wearing (even though sometimes I’m silly and think that I don’t.)

Maybe this is related to the joy of shopping, which I think connects to Becky’s comment in my last post. She pointed out that Americans are less happy and feel like there is a void in their lives. Maybe we try to fill that void with the short-lived pleasure of shopping. Perhaps, our fixation on things is part of the reason we have a void just to begin with!

What do you think?

Either way, I have a fix for my overflow of possessions. I’m going to give a bunch of them away =] especially to the international students who just moved here! That should lighten my suitcase…

6 thoughts on “The Value of Things

  1. Consumerism fills the void in most people’s lives-of-destitution which comes from basic insecurity. People shop and buy useless junk because their lives are empty and fragile.

    The meaninglessness of the universe frightens most so they run heater- helter-skelter frantically doing/buying trying to assuage the fear of nothingness.

    Seems many will never come to terms with the emptiness-of-existence and be able to existentially choose a Mission which will be Fulfilling.

    Suppose we _Earthling_ will plod on, not much changed with too many useless things, doings and warrings, in the words of the Immortal Bard Bill-Boy-Blue Shakespeare, “from day to day to the last syllable of recorded time!”

    FYI: All of the Hotel’s Professional Extraordinaire’s tangibles fit neatly into two bags: one big for a few clothes including two business suites, shoes, PHC items, etc. and the other small for my notebook (laptop in the old U.S. of A.). The Brother DCP-585CW multifunction goes in its own box and cannot live without it–there being continually items to print, copy and scan!

    However, do not take your printer to France because it will not run on the 220 V current!

    Less things more MEANING 🙂 !

    BTW: This frantic running-to-buy is the basic reason for our Beautiful and beleaguered spacecraft _Earth’s_ ongoing financial crises!

    Olga Kovshanova, MBA, MA
    Sales and Guest Relations Manager for CIS, Eastern Europe & Greece
    The Grand Mauritian Resort & Spa
    Hotel Professional Extraordinaire
    Email: olinka@olinka.info
    Homepage: http://www.olinka.info/
    Skype name: olinkaru
    ICQ: 212336628
    M: +230-717-5790
    LinkedIn Profile: http://www.linkedin.com/in/kovshanovaolga

  2. Great idea to give your things to new students. It is amazing how much one can accumulate over time; it takes great diligence to avoid a stockpile. Good for you!

  3. An Ancient Wisdoms:

    Possessions are millstones around a person’s neck in a sea of nothingness!

    There is only EnJoYment in the Present Tense and the morrow never arrives!!

    Is the Emperor dreaming She is a Butterfly, or does the Butterfly dream He is the Emperor?

    Olga Kovshanova, MBA, MA
    Sales and Guest Relations Manager for CIS, Eastern Europe & Greece
    The Grand Mauritian Resort & Spa
    Hotel Professional Extraordinaire
    Email: olinka@olinka.info
    Homepage: http://www.olinka.info/
    Skype name: olinkaru
    ICQ: 212336628
    M: +230-717-5790
    LinkedIn Profile: http://www.linkedin.com/in/kovshanovaolga

Comment on this post!

