Dream Job: International House Activities Coordinator


All this talk about living life to the fullest and finding a fulfilling occupation has made me kind of pensive lately. I’ve been dreaming up all kinds of ideal careers! Here’s the first one I’ll tell you about.

I volunteered at my university’s International House (i-house) this morning. It was tons of fun. I got to chat up students from Germany, Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, Japan, Thailand… you name it! Today was the first day of a whole week preparing international students for their first semester in the U.S. and it got me thinking… I could totally work at a place like this =]

I love meeting people from all over the world, speak 4 languages, am used to dealing with cultural differences, have tons of experience working with foreigners and am used to planning sight-seeing trips/taking care of reception both for friends of mine who fly in and for interns placed in the Bay Area by AIESEC San Jose.

I drove all the way down to San Diego to take care of AIESEC reception for our Dutch trainee, Jeroen (first from the left)

AIESEC and my own love of traveling and making friends with people from the world over have prepared me for this kind of occupation pretty well…

Let’s look at the perks

  1. Meet students from all over the world (and make friends =] )
  2. Motivation to learn even more languages!
  3. Do work that is much more fun than being stuck in a cubicle all week long
  4. Plan and go on trips all over the Bay Area
Now for the cons
  1. Probably doesn’t pay very well
  2. Long hours
  3. Work on weekends
  4. Event planning (?)

Yeah… I don’t especially enjoy event planning, but I think I should specify. I don’t like to plan big, professional, time-consuming events (like the alumni mixer AIESEC San Jose put on last fall) but smaller-scale events for foreign students are different. Those are more laid-back and I’m used to setting them up so it shouldn’t be a problem.

All things considered, this would be a super-fun job! Now I have no illusions… the i-house’s coordinator was running all over the place and seemed pretty stressed out this morning. She was getting ready for a long week of activities! She also seemed very happy though, like she truly enjoys her job. Maybe I should interview her for a blog post–yeah?

I guess what I need to figure out now is whether there are “i-houses” at universities in Paris!

What do you think? Would I make a good international student activities coordinator?

9 thoughts on “Dream Job: International House Activities Coordinator

  1. Not enough money or future in being an international student activities coordinator ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but surely fun, yes ๐Ÿ™‚ !

    Yes, there are similar positions in France. Check with the Paris Unis.

    Ask (in French) my old Prof. and Dear Friend Jean-Claude Daniel (E-mail: jeanclaudedaniel@free.fr) of the Institut Catholique de Paris (www.icp.fr) for advice. Say I recommend you to J-C.

    You can find a FUN Mission that also pays well enough so you can live decently and increase you nest-egg too!

    Olga Kovshanova, MBA, MA
    Sales and Guest Relations Manager for CIS, Eastern Europe & Greece
    The Grand Mauritian Resort & Spa
    Hotel Professional Extraordinaire
    Email: olinka@olinka.info
    Homepage: http://www.olinka.info/
    Skype name: olinkaru
    ICQ: 212336628
    M: +230-717-5790
    LinkedIn Profile: http://www.linkedin.com/in/kovshanovaolga

  2. One more thought:

    You can do the same Mission as an international student activities coordinator in a luxury Parisian hotel as a Guest Relations Officer for more money. Plus with your Intelligence, Charm and Caring you will both help people EnJoY more and receive their appreciation in the form of generous gratuities!

    Therefore you will be able to have Fun helping people from all over the world, use your language skills and earn enough to have a decent living in GAY Paree plus add to your nest-egg ๐Ÿ™‚ !

    Will send you by e-mail my private data base of the luxury Parisian hotels.

    Olga Kovshanova, MBA, MA
    Sales and Guest Relations Manager for CIS, Eastern Europe & Greece
    The Grand Mauritian Resort & Spa
    Hotel Professional Extraordinaire
    Email: olinka@olinka.info
    Homepage: http://www.olinka.info/
    Skype name: olinkaru
    ICQ: 212336628
    M: +230-717-5790
    LinkedIn Profile: http://www.linkedin.com/in/kovshanovaolga

  3. Pingback: The Value of Things « Anne-Sophie

  4. How does one volunteer at the international house? I live a couple of blocks from there now and would like to meet some new people.

    • I forgot to mention coffee night! Every Tuesday night starting at 8pm (I think) the i-house is open to anyone and everyone who wants to come socialize with international students. It would be a great place for you to meet people who live nearby (and it’s always a lot of fun!) Jade will be able to tell you about it too.

Comment on this post!

