How young is old? Making the most of the time I have, Part 2


Sorry it took me so long to get back to discussing this! I’m glad you guys liked my first post on this topic though =] Let’s continue our discussion…

PART 2 Where does work fit into all this?

The other day a friend of mine asked me why I work so much. I have savings and my parents are kindly paying my university fees and rent… so why do I always have a job? Food, clothes and movies don’t cost that much! (although university books do =/)

Is this the look of a workaholic? Working while others socialize

I guess there are 2 parts to this.

  1. Honestly, I just like to work. Internships and part-time jobs always teach me something. They stimulate me intellectually and make me feel good about being productive. I know this may sound strange to many people, but I just wouldn’t enjoy being a couch potato every once in a while if I wasn’t doing lots with the rest of my time. (Notice how this ties in to my other post about Growing Up Abroad ;D)
  2. Financial security. I have savings now, and I would like to keep it that way. I’ve seen what a depression can do the last few years and I want to keep adding to my little pile of gold, scrooge-style (that, and I do love to shop!)

Relating this back to getting old too quickly… is working part of living life to the fullest? Is it only taking away from the time I could be spending doing other things like traveling? It’s true that it has been taking time away from exercise, but I truly enjoy doing PR and social media for trint.me, a startup I started working for a few weeks ago.

My other job, BathFitter, I’m doing more for the money. I enjoy working there sometimes, but some shifts can turn out to be excruciatingly boring… Is that a good balance?

Should I quit my jobs and just enjoy life until I move to France?

12 thoughts on “How young is old? Making the most of the time I have, Part 2

  1. If you find the BathFitter job unfulfilling, how about volunteering?

    A few years ago, I met the wife of one of my contacts, and she said she was volunteering her services to Women 2.0 (www.women2.org). They support female founders of startups in the San Francisco area through events and professional development “labs”. I remember you mentioned your love for start-ups and women’s causes in previous blog posts. Perhaps you can gain experience that you can pass on to women entrepreneurs in France… or become one yourself eventually πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the idea! I only have 1 month left here though =/
      You were right on track about volunteering! I’ve been volunteering for AIESEC for over 2 years and absolutely love it! (have I tried to recruit you yet? ;D)

      • Wow, only one month? That’s coming up soon.

        And no, you haven’t tried to recruit me yet haha! So many of my AIESEC friends have tried over the years though, and I could never join because I was busy with other student organizations up to the time I graduated. But who knows, perhaps you would have been the one to reel me in πŸ˜‰

      • Well… I do remember giving a presentation in our Mandarin class. If you were already busy volunteering for other organizations then maybe you didn’t need it so much. It’s amazing since it pretty much allows us to your our own business while were in college and learn everything that goes with that, but I’m sure you got a lot out of your student organizations too! (Otherwise you would have joined by now with all those invitations =] )

      • Oh yeah, AIESEC’s an awesome organization for sure! I was just focused on networking with very specific groups of professional people, mainly in finance and accounting. Plus I always planned to start my career in San Francisco’s financial district, or possibly New York. So I never thought of joining for the international internships, like many of my friends did.

        Looking back though, I should have tried it for a semester or two. AIESEC’s conferences and national events seem like great networking opportunities… and a lot of fun!

      • Oh yes definitely cultural. But it’s more than just a work ethic; there is a constant need to be doing something, to be busy filling one’s time. I think Americans are largely dissatisfied with life & to fill the void they try to stay occupied.

      • That’s such an interesting observation!! Do you think it’s connected to consumerism? I’ve heard a lot about that but not so much about the void being an American phenomenon…

  2. check out “story of stuff” for a start… you can watch it online. not sure if you saw but I messaged you on her future that it would be great to talk sometime & answer the questions you were asking there! πŸ™‚

    • I have seen the story of stuff! It’s an amazing presentation. I haven’t been checking my herfuture account as often as I should ><' I'll check it today and connect with you

Comment on this post!

