Ca Adventures, Episode 1: Gilroy Garlic Festival


Since I’m leaving California in 2 months and don’t know when I’ll be back, I thought it would be a good idea to try to see as much as I can before I leave. I’ve already been to Yosemite, Tahoe, San Diego, and spent more time than I care to admit showing friends and relatives around in San Francisco, but there are still a few places I would like to visit (like Napa Valley!)

So here’s to checking off one of the places on my list: California’s famous Gilroy Garlic Festival.

I actually got very lucky with this one– Bath Fitter scheduled me to work there 2 days this weekend. During my breaks from telling people about the wonders of one-day bath remodeling, I explored the festival, ate yummy food, and wandered through the alleys of small shops.

For your reading enjoyment, here are the 5 things that made my days interesting:

  1. Garlic hats! People kept walking by with funny  hats that look like garlic on their heads.
  2. Roasted corn drowned in garlic butter. Yum!
  3. The mist tent: a haven of shade and mist. Refreshing, relaxing, and energizing, definitely a festival-visiter favorite =]
  4. Frozen fruit covered in molten chocolate and dipped in peanuts. Apricots, strawberries, bananas and even pineapple–I would go back to the festival for these alone.
  5. And last but not least, the hall of treasures. A maze of stands selling everything from cowboy hats to maki sushi kits to flat bottles, I almost got lost in there!

This was definitely the funnest event I have worked at as of yet. I unfortunately was unable to take pictures since my camera died, but not to worry, check out the Festival’s official photo center: http://www.gilroygarlicfestival.com/photo-center.html

My only regret? I didn’t eat any garlic ice cream.

Now tell me, what’s the coolest thing you’ve seen at or heard about the Gilroy Garlic Festival? And what other places do you recommend I visit before I leave?

3 thoughts on “Ca Adventures, Episode 1: Gilroy Garlic Festival

  1. Woody Allen once said, “When you leave Manhattan you ain’t going nowhere!”

    But he’s wrong: “When you leave Paris, The City-o-Light, you ain’t going nowhere!!”

    However, suggest you see Manhattan on the way to GAY Paree !!!

    If you want will send you a list of “Must Sees” in the Hilly Island which I saw when I was there in June?

    Olga Kovshanova, MBA, MA
    Sales and Guest Relations Manager CIS
    The Grand Mauritian Resort & Spa
    Hotel Professional Extraordinaire
    Email: olinka@olinka.info
    Homepage: http://www.olinka.info/
    Skype name: olinkaru
    ICQ: 212336628
    M: +230-717-5790
    LinkedIn Profile: http://www.linkedin.com/in/kovshanovaolga

Comment on this post!

